

Past IBRO-Kemali Prize Recipients

1998

Dr. Tamas Freund (Budapest, Hungary) for his outstanding contributions to the organization and chemical characterization of identified neuronal circuits and cell types in the brain, in particular in the hippocampus.

2000

Dr. Robert C. Malenka (Boston, MA, USA) for his fundamental contributions in the field of synaptic plasticity, in particular long term potentiation and long term depression, and the characterization of the role of silent synapses in these processes.

2002

Dr. Daniele Piomelli (Irvine, CA, USA) for his fundamental discoveries concerning the functional roles and regulation of endogenous cannabinoids in the brain and peripheral tissues.

2004

Dr. Cornelia I. Bargmann (San Francisco, CA, USA) for her fundamental discoveries concerning genes, behavior, and the sense of smell in the nematode C. elegans.

2006

Dr. Patrik Ernfors (Stockholm, Sweden) for his outstanding work on the expression and function of neurotrophic factors and neuropeptide and their receptors exploiting transgenic techniques.

2008

Dr. Massimo Scanziani (San Diego, CA, USA) for his seminal discoveries on how cerebral cortex perceives the environment by showing that cortical circuits operate in an activity-dependent and non-linear fashion using canonical feed-forward and feed-back inhibition circuits as feature detectors of incoming stimuli.

2010

Dr. Jonas Frisén (Stockholm, Sweden) for his pioneering contributions to our understanding of neurogenesis in the central nervous system.

2012

Dr. Eleanor Maguire (London, UK) for her innovative contributions to understanding human memory.