

Toni Capra, SOGH Executive Director
The Society of OB/GYN Hospitalists
832-895-6400
SOGHAdmin@societyofobgynhospitalists.org

The Society of OB/GYN Hospitalists Joins in Supporting the Preventing Maternal Deaths Act of 2017

April 5, 2017

Houston, Texas - The Society of OB/GYN Hospitalists (SOGH) announces its support of the bipartisan Preventing Maternal Deaths Act of 2017 (HR1318) that will strengthen states' efforts in the prevention of maternal deaths and identify solutions to improve health care quality and outcomes for mothers. The Act will help states in establishing and expanding their mortality review efforts and promote national information sharing through the Center for Disease Control and Prevention so they can continue to learn from each other and collaborate as needed.

The Preventing Maternal Deaths Act of 2017 was introduced to the U.S. House of Representatives on March 2, 2017 by Representatives Jaime Herrera Beutler, (R-WA), John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI), Ryan Costello (R-PA) and Diana DeGette (D-CO).

"SOGH is pleased to join The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) and the Preeclampsia Foundation in their support of this important effort", stated SOGH Chairman, Meredith Morgan. Reporting and review are components of the care process cycle of "recognition, response, results, reporting/review". SOGH's Board of Directors, acting on behalf of the Society's members, who are often first responders to cases of severe maternal morbidity, welcome the knowledge on the origins of likely preventable maternal mortality as well as the collection and dissemination of data at the state level to identify local ways to prevent future pregnancy related deaths and complications. The Preventing Maternal Deaths Act of 2017 is a step toward solution in the recognition and response components of the care cycle.

The Society of OB/GYN Hospitalists is a nonprofit organization of obstetricians, certified nurse practitioners, midwives, and other professionals interested in the care of pregnant women. Our primary mission is to enhance the quality and safety of a woman's in-hospital care.

2017 Board of Directors

Meredith Morgan President

Tanner Colegrove President Elect

Brigid McCue Immediate Past President

Arthur Townsend Treasurer

Shefali Gandhi-List Secretary

Trina Pagano

Dayna Smith

Cate Stika

Hallie Stosur

Jane van Dis

Ngozi Wexler